THE AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR CELL BIOLOGY

> NATIONAL OFFICE: 9650 Rockville Pike Bethesda, Maryland 20814-3992 TEL: 301/530-7153 FAX: 301/530-7139 E-MAIL: aschlufo@asch.org www.asch.org/asch

February 23, 1999

Dr. Joshua Lederberg Rockefeller University 1230 York Avenue New York, NY 10021

Dear Josh:

Many of you responded to the American Society for Cell Biology's request for endorsement of the Society's position on human cloning. That support was extremely influential in defeating legislation that would have compromised the progress of biomedical research.

The controversy has now advanced to the question of human stem cell research. The Department of Health & Human Services has ruled that research on derivative stem cells by a scientist supported by the federal funds is permissible under the current legislative ban on embryo research. In response, 71 members of the House sent a letter to Health & Human Services Secretary Donna Shalala challenging the ruling and proposing that stem cell research be prohibited under the embryo research ban.

The ASCB is seeking to persuade Congress and the Administration to acknowledge the distinction between "embryo" and "stem cell" research and to explicitly exempt stem cell research from the prohibition on the use of federal funds to support embryo research.

To this end, we seek your signature on the attached letter. Please return the enclosed form as soon as possible but no faler than Wednesday, March 3, at 12:00 noon Eastern Standard Time.

Thank you for your continued and immediate consideration.

Sincerely yours,

Paul Berg, Ph.D. Cahill Professor of Cancer Research Director of the Beckman Center for Molecular & Genetic Medicine Stanford University Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, 1980 Chair, ASCB Public Policy Committee

Enclosures



RANDY SCHEKMAN

RICHARD HYNES President-elect

ELIZABETH H. BLACKBURN Past-President

GEORGE M. LANGFORD Secretary

CARL M. COHEN Deasurer

ELIZABETH MARINCOLA Executive Director

COUNCIL

CAROL W. GREIDER IRA HERSKOWITZ JENNIFER LIPPINCOTT-SCHWARTZ MARK S. MOOSEKER SANDRA A. MURRAY W. JAMES NELSON ERIC N. OLSON EDWARD D. SALMON FAMELA A. SU VER KAI SIMONS SUSAN STROME LYDEA VILLA-KOMAROFF

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

RICHARD G.W. ANDERSON Constitution & By-kaves

FRANK SOLOMON Education

CARL M. COUEN Finance

KAI SIMONS International Affairs

TRINA SCHRÖUR Local Arrangements

GEORGE M. LANGFORD Membership

J. K. HAYNES Minorities Affairs

IRA HERSKOWITZ Nonlineting

KATHERINE L. WILSON Public Information

PAUL BERG Public Policy

DAVID DRUBIN Scientific Meetings

ZENA WERB Women in Cell Biology

MOLECULAR BIOLOGY OF THE CELL

DAVID BOTSTEIN Editor-in-chief

та: