FROM: OMNIFAX

Society for Cell Biology

> NATIONAL OPPICE: 9650 Rockville Pike - Bethesda, Maryland 20814-3992 TEL: 301/530 7153 - FAX: 301/530 7139 \* E-MAIL: aschinlo@aschorg - www.aschorg/asch

February 4, 1998

Dr. Joshua Lederberg Rockefeller University 1230 York Avenue New York, NY 10021

Dcar Josh:

As you arc aware, the issue of cloning has come again into the public spotlight by the perhaps inevitable effort of an individual to clone human beings. This action and the publicity it has engendered has inspired calls for legislation regulating "cloning" by the Congress and the Administration. It is hoped that Congress would accept the caution of the National Bioethics Advisory Commission that any legislation be carefully written so as not to interfere with other important areas of scientific research.

The real danger of some bills that have already been proposed is that it they reach beyond the narrow illegalization of cloning human beings to inadvertently or intentionally limit important biomedical research.

To prevent this outcome, 1 am requesting your endorsement and that of other fellow Nobelists of the attached letter. If you are willing to co-sign, please complete and return the enclosed form as soon as possible but no later than Monday, February 9 by 12 noon Eastern time, to the American Society for Cell Biology.

Thank you very much for your immediate consideration.

Sincerely yours,

Paul Berg, Ph.D.
Cahill Professor of Cancer Research
Director of the Beckman Center for Molecular & Genetic Medicine
Stanford University
Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, 1980
Chair, ASCB Public Policy Committee JAN 15, 1990 3:31PM #747 P.01 OFFICERS

ELIZABETH H. BLACKBURN

RANDY SCHEKMAN

MINA J. BISSELL. Past-President

GEORGE M. LANGFORD Security

CARL M. COHEN Theasant

ELIZABLETH MARINCOLA Executive Director

COUNCIL

MARY BECKERDE IRA HERSKOWICZ RICHARD O HYNES MARY LEE S. LEDDETTER JENNIFER LIPPINCOTT-SCHWARDZ ANTHONY F. MAHOWALD W. JAMES NELSON ERIC N. OLSON PAMELA A. SUMER KAI SIMONS SUSAN STROME LYDIA VILLA-KOMAROFF

## COMMITTIES CHAIRS

RIGHARD G.W. ANDERSON Constitution & By have

FRANK SOLOMON Education

CARL M. COHEN Finance

KAI SIMONS International Affairs

RIK DERYNCK Local Arrangements

GEORGE M. LANGFORD Membership

J.K. WAYNES Minorities Affairs

IOSPPH G. GALL

KATHERINE L. WILSON Public Information

PAUL BERG Public Iblicy

DENNIFER UPPINCOUV SCHWARTZ Scientific Meetings

ZENA WERB Women in Cell Biology

MOLICULAR BIOLOGY OF THE CELL

DAVID BOUSTEIN Editor-in-chief

## то: