1000 Connecticut Ave., N.W., Suite 803, Washington, D.C. 20036 (202) 293-7660



Board of Directors

Harvey Silbert

December 21, 1982

Elizabeth E. Chotin **Executive Director**

William Regelson, M.D. Scientific Director

Marcus H. Rabwin, M.D. Vice President

Mrs. Alan Cranston

Secretary & Treasurer

Vincent V. Abaiian Mrs. Mariorie Benton Bernard Bergreen Conway Collis Lawrence S. Hoffheimer Mrs. Albert D. Lasker **Dennis Miller** Mrs. Lvn Revson Miles Rubin Tom Rubin John F. Sandner Carl Terzian

Dr. Joshua Lederberg President Rockefeller University 1230 York Avenue New York, NY 10021

Dear Dr. Lederberg:

I am so sorry you were not able to join us for our December 9th Board of Directors and Science Advisory Board meetings held in Senator Cranston's office. I found the response to our past accomplishments and future plans and the general enthusiasm exhibited by the members in attendance most heartening. excited about our upcoming opportunities and look forward to further discussions in that regard.

I have enclosed a copy of an article which just appeared in Hospital Practice in response to our Science Writers Seminar at Rockefeller University which I think you will find of interest. While I cannot comment on the accuracy of the scientific reporting, I am pleased that we are receiving this kind of coverage and have reason to believe that we will see more of it in the near future.

I know we all have personal plans over the next few weeks and as you may or may not know mine include the arrival of a new member of the family. While I hope we will all take advantage of the holiday season, I think that after the first of the year there will be lots of exciting things to do regarding FIBER. will be in touch with you then and look forward to continuing to work with you.

Happy holidays.

Cordially,

Science Advisory Board

F. Marott Sinex, Ph.D.

Chairman Science Advisory Board Professor of Biochemistry Boston University

Harry Demopoulos, M.D.

Associate Professor of Pathology New York University Medical Center

Allan Goldstein, Ph.D.

Chairman, Department of Biochemistry School of Medicine George Washington University

Joshua Lederberg, Ph.D.

President Rockefeller University

Carl Merril, M.D.

Research Scientist Laboratory of General and Comparative Biochemistry National Institute of Mental Health

Irwin Pachter, Ph.D.

Vice President Research and Development **Bristol Laboratories**

Marcus H. Rabwin, M.D.

Albert Rosenfeld

Consultant on Future Programs March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation

Lewis Thomas, M.D.

Chancellor Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

James Weisiger, Ph.D.

NIH. Retired

Jerry Williams, Sc.D.

Professor of Radiology and Pharmacology School of Medicine George Washington University

Bety Chotin Elizabeth E. Chotin Executive Director