

Scientific DataLinks

A Division of Comtex Scientific Corporation

850 Third Avenue New York, N.Y. 10022 (212)

10022 (212) 838-7200

Scientific Advisory Board

Dr. Augustus B. Kinzel, Chairman Vice President Research

Union Carbide Corporation (ret.); President, The Salk Institute for Biological Studies (ret.)

Dr. Francis C. H. Crick Distinguished Research Professor, The Salk Institute for Biological Studies Nobel laureate

Dr. Lee A. DuBridge President Emeritus, California Institute of Technology

Dr. Leon O. Jacobson

Dean Emeritus, Pritzker School of Medicine, Joseph Regenstein Professor of Biology and Medical Science, University of Chicago

Dr. Frederick Seitz President Emeritus

President Emeritus The Rockefeller University

Dr. Charles H. Townes University Professor of Physics, University of California, Berkeley Nobel Jaureate April 24, 1984

Dr. Joshua Lederberg President The Rockefeller University 1230 York Avenue New York, New York 10021

Dear Dr. Lederberg:

I received a copy of your note to Bruce and I want to tell you how delighted we are that we will have access to you on an ad-hoc basis. Since our meetings really are "occasional", you needn't be concerned that we will flood you with invitations.

Perhaps you might suggest to me the name of the person at the University with whom I might need to make arrangements to send the quarterly. I worry somewhat that the accounting and legal implications at the University could be greater than the amounts of money -- unless they're geared up for it. We understand your restrictions as to the use of your name and will observe it.

I hope you will find time soon for us to give you an update on where we are and what our plans are for the next year.

In the meantime, I should say the Scientific DataLink Division of Comtex has been operating profitably since the first of the year and we expect that in the quarter beginning April 1, 1984, the entire Comtex operation will be in the black. This is a long way from your first exposure to Comtex. It took a lot of work and we're all delighted to have reached that point.

A11 best.



Herbert Magourney