

OCKE LLER EN OF THE T

850 Third Avenue New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 838-7200

Dr. Frederick Plotkin President

Scientific Advisory Board

Dr. Augustus B. Kinzel, Chairman Vice President, Research,

Union Carbide Corporation (ret.); President, The Salk Institute for Biological Studies (ret.)

Dr. William O. Baker

Dr. Francis C. H. Crick

Dr. Lee A. DuBridge President Emeritus, California Institute of Technology

Dr. Leon O. Jacobson

Dean Emeritus, Pritzker School of Medicine, Joseph Regenstein Professor of Biology and Medical Science, University of Chicago

Dr. Frederick Seitz President Emeritus, The Rockefeller University

Dr. Charles H. Townes University Professor of Physics, University of California, Berkeley Nobel laureate November 29, 1982

Joshua Lederberg, President The Rockefeller University President, Bell Laboratories (ret.) York Ave and E. 66th Street Distinguished Research Professor, The Salk Institute for Biological Studies Nobel laureate

Dear Dr. Lederberg:

At our meeting on November 3rd we discussed the possibility of an online electronic edition of the Biophysical Journal. You expressed your willingness to present a proposal describing such a service to the Board of the Biophysical Society. I enclose our draft proposal for your frank comments and your suggestions for improvements. Clearly, we want to submit a proposal to the Board which you would feel comfortable to endorse. I, therefore, look forward to your criticism of this. first draft so  $\wp$ that we can develop a more satisfactory final version.

With best regards,

Dr. Frederick Plotkin President

